“My Shadow” by Robert Louis Stevenson

One of my personal favorites:

“My Shadow”

I have a little shadow that goes in and out with me,

And what can be the use of him is more than I can see.

He is very, very like me from the heels up to the head;

And I see him jump before me, when I jump into my bed

The funniest thing about him is the way he likes to grow –

Not at all like proper children, which is always very slow;

For he sometimes shoots up taller like an Indian-rubber ball,

And he sometimes gets so little that there’s none of him at all.

~Robert Louis Stevenson~

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

